bartop
Nonprofit Online News
News of the Online Nonprofit Community

header

           RSS

Navigation


Current News
 News Archives
 Book Reviews
 Feature Articles
 Free White Papers
 Contributors
 About News

Classified Ads

Make a Donation
Read Testimonials
Submit News

Enter your email address for a free weekly edition.
Subscribers

About Subscription

[Printer Friendly Version]

Our Readers' Favorite News Sources

Related Links

 
If you found this article interesting or helpful, please consider making a donation to Nonprofit Online News.
It will probably feel good!

 

In January 2003, we surveyed our readers with questions about books, news sources, and successful use of email. We got hundreds of answers, in response to this:

    "We benefit from a vast array of other news sources and we imagine you do as well. Help us learn about them by telling us what the most valuable online and print news sources are for you."

But of those, these received more than one vote. Today, in honor of the sixth anniversary of the founding of Nonprofit Online News, we honor all these other wonderful sources of news used by nonprofit readers.

-- Michael C. Gilbert
 

Best online news sources and URL: NPO Specific

  1. BoardCafe, CompassPoint: http://www.boardcafe.org/
  2. Charity Channel: http://www.charitychannel.com/
  3. Charity Village: http://www.charityvillage.com/charityvillage/news.asp
  4. Chronicle of Philanthropy: http://philanthropy.com/
  5. Foundation Center: http://www.fdncenter.org
  6. Grant Station: http://www.grantstation.com
  7. Idealist: http://www.idealist.org
  8. ISTR - Int'l Society for Third-Sector Research: http://www.jhu.edu/~istr/about/
  9. MAP for Nonprofits: http://www.mapfornonprofits.org/
  10. Philanthropy Journal: http://www.philanthropyjournal.org/front.asp
  11. Philanthropy News Digest: http://fdncenter.org/pnd/
  12. PNN Online: http://www.pnnonline.org/
  13. TechSoup.org: http://techsoup.org/
  14. Nonprofit Online News: Even though the intention was to get recommendations of news sources other than us, there were still more than a dozen people who mentioned us in the survey.

 

Best online news sources and URL: General

  1. ABC News: http://www.abcnews.com
  2. AlterNet: http://www.alternet.org/
  3. BBCi: http://news.bbc.co.uk/
  4. Chicago Tribune: http://www.chicagotribune.com
  5. Christian Science Monitor: http://www.csmonitor.com
  6. CNN: http://www.cnn.com
  7. Common Dreams News Center: http://www.commondreams.org
  8. Econtent: http://www.econtentmag.com/ecxtra/
  9. Fuel4Arts.com: http://www.fuel4arts.com/
  10. Globe and Mail, The: http://globeandmail.com/
  11. Google News: http://news.google.com/
  12. International Herald Tribune: http://www.iht.com/frontpage.html
  13. L.A. Times: http://www.latimes.com/
  14. MSN http://www.msn.com/
  15. MSNBC: http://www.msnbc.com/
  16. New York Times: http://www.nytimes.com
  17. NewsScan.com: http://www.newsscan.com/
  18. NPR - National Public Radio: http://npr.org/
  19. Rabble.ca: http://rabble.ca/
  20. Site Pro News: http://sitepronews.com/
  21. Slate: http://slate.msn.com/
  22. Society Guardian : http://society.guardian.co.uk
  23. Truthout: http://www.truthout.org/
  24. Wall Street Journal: http://online.wsj.com/public/us
  25. Washington Post Online: http://www.washingtonpost.com/
  26. Yahoo: http://news.yahoo.com/

 

Best print news source: NPO Specific

  1. Chronicle of Higher Education: http://chronicle.com/
  2. Chronicle of Philanthropy: http://philanthropy.com/
  3. Contributions: http://www.contributionsmagazine.com/
  4. The Nonprofit Quarterly: http://www.tsne.org/section/2.html
  5. Nonprofit Times: http://www.nptimes.com/

 

Best print news source: General

  1. Boston Globe: http://www.boston.com/globe/
  2. Christian Science Monitor: http://www.csmonitor.com
  3. The Economist: http://www.economist.com/
  4. The Globe and Mail: http://www.globeandmail.com/
  5. The Guardian: http://www.guardian.co.uk/
  6. Los Angeles Times: http://www.latimes.com/
  7. The Nation: http://www.thenation.com/
  8. New York Times: http://www.nytimes.com
  9. New York Times Book Review: http://www.nytimes.com/pages/books/
  10. New Yorker: http://www.newyorker.com/
  11. Newsweek: http://www.msnbc.com/news/NW-front_Front.asp
  12. The Progressive: http://www.progressive.org/
  13. San Francisco Chronicle: http://www.sfchron.com/
  14. USA Today: http://www.usatoday.com/
  15. Utne Reader: http://www.utne.com/
  16. Wall Street Journal: http://online.wsj.com/public/us
  17. Washington Post: http://www.washingtonpost.com/
  18. Wired: http://www.wired.com/

 


If you found this article interesting or helpful,
please consider making a donation to Nonprofit Online News.
It will probably feel good!


 


 


Copyright 1997-2014. All rights reserved.
Nonprofit Online News is a program of The Gilbert Center. All opinions and observations are by Michael Gilbert unless otherwise noted. | Contact Us | Submit News Tips: Form or Email: news@gilbert.org | If you have any trouble with this site write to: webmaster@gilbert.org



 
Web Nonprofit News
Authors' Network

 
The Authentic Organization
Gavin's Digital Diner
The Guru's Handbook
The Nexilist's Notebook
Rare Medium
With
 
Review All in One Place!


Seminars


Training Info

Nonprofit Technology Consulting Skills (Available Anytime)

Course Corrections: A Mid-Career LifeWork Seminar (Available Anytime)
 


Publications

 
View All

Does Evidence Matter to Grantmakers? Data, Logic, and the Lack thereof in the Largest U.S. Foundations

Case Studies

Doing Well by Doing Good? A Report on Work Satisfaction in Civil Society

Communication Centered Technology Planning, 2nd Edition

The Guide to Nonprofit Email
 


The Gilbert Center

 
  About
  Consulting
  Publications
  Training
  Speaking
  Research